Skip to content

Organisations that operate a Competence Management System (CMS) can apply for OPITO approval for their specific system. CMS approval includes ongoing site visits to ensure continual improvement. The approval can also be used to provide evidence as part of a tender. The approval process consists of the following stages:

Become opito approved
  1. Stage 1: Initial Contact

    Contact your OPITO regional office to register interest in obtaining OPITO CMS approval. OPITO will create an account for you within The HUB. You can then complete and submit the pre-screening questionnaire which will be processed via The HUB.

  2. Stage 2: Pre-Approval Workshop

    A pre-approval video for organisations is available via The HUB to provide context prior to a one-to-one session with a Quality Assurance Specialist. The physical (or digital) workshop will provide the opportunity to ask questions.  

  3. Stage 3: Application

    An application for CMS approval is then completed via The HUB and you are advised to include as much information as possible on any other relevant applicable approvals.

  4. Stage 4: Desktop Submission

    A desktop submission will then be completed via The HUB. This stage ensures that your organisation has a CMS in place that complies with the OPITO approval criteria. Training will also be provided to help you navigate and complete a Desktop Submission within The HUB.

  5. Stage 5: Initial Site Visit

    An OPITO Quality Assurance Specialist will visit your organisation’s premises, or carry out a remote visit, and observe the CMS and assessments being carried out against the relevant OPITO CMS criteria.

Following the successful completion of the above approvals process, an organisation is then awarded OPITO CMS approval.   

Certification Validation Checker