Time running out to enter prestigious industry safety awards


10th August 2016

The deadline to enter the seventh annual OPITO Safety and Competency Awards 2016 is fast approaching, with entries closing on Friday, 2nd September.

Employers and training providers working to achieve the highest safety standards in the oil and gas industry are invited to submit their nominations for the esteemed accolades which will be presented at the OPITO Safety and Competency Conference in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, on November 16th.

These awards recognise companies that are committed to building a safe and competent workforce through OPITO standards.

Any oil and gas company can enter the OSCC Employers Award if it can demonstrate how it is building a safe and competent workforce. Entrants will be judged on how they have effectively adopted OPITO standards and how they are future proofing skills and a safe working environment through training competence and qualification initiatives. They will also be asked to demonstrate how they are adapting for the future with the use of innovation in technology and processes.

The Approved Training Providers Award recognises the training provider which has demonstrated its commitment to developing the skills of its staff to deliver OPITO training. The criteria examines the range of standards used in development programmes, their structure and timeframe; and ask for examples of innovation in learning and development. Entrants will also be asked to demonstrate creative and innovative approaches in the changing industry operating environment and how this ensures the workforce is ‘Fit for the Future’.

OPITO group chief executive officer David Doig said: “Despite the challenging market conditions the industry is currently facing, there have been some outstanding safety and competency initiatives rolled out around the world, which truly highlight the passion the industry has for its people.

“In recognising these continuous efforts, we hope to make a concerted effort to contribute to the long term sustainability of the workforce. Each year we continue to see companies exhibiting the highest standards in safety and the awards are OPITO’s way of rewarding this.”

Entries can be made online at www.opito.com/oscc-conference. An independent judging panel of industry leaders will score each entry according to the agreed criteria. Finalists will be announced by Friday, September 16th and winners announced at OSCC 2016.

9Bdaafac71B5Ce607E87Bad8B35191Ad 99875

Stay up to date with OPITO news by subscribing to our newsletter

Sign Up
de down